Michigan IT Academy

The Office of the VPIT-CIO sponsors professional development activities to develop high-demand skills, promote common frameworks and terminology, and nurture the working relationships among IT staff across the university.

The Michigan IT Academy is a new program being developed to provide a professional learning framework and curriculum plan for all Michigan IT staff. The program, which is currently in a design phase, was initiated to retool professional development for university IT staff so that we can leverage technology in new ways in support of the President’s vision to position Michigan for perpetual excellence and public impact.

Program Objectives

  • Develop and provide an on-campus IT skill management and leadership development structure that supports ongoing learning for all U-M IT staff as they move up and across the institution in various IT roles and positions
  • Develop learning standards and experiential learning opportunities for all Michigan IT staff for the critical IT and core organizational skills required today and for the future
  • Enable and support staff skill and professional development in alignment with continuous changes in information technology platforms
  • Build local capabilities for designing, delivering, and assessing the effectiveness of IT training

Provide Feedback

Stay tuned to the Michigan IT Newsletter for future announcements about this next program and how to communicate interest and/or recommend staff. Please direct any questions or comments to the Michigan IT Academy steering committee.


The IT Academy is led by the by the Michigan IT Academy Steering Committee. Members of the planning team include: Cathy Curley (ITS), Ted Hanss (HITS), Erik Hofer (School of information), Mashon Allen (ITS), Karen Sloan (ITS) and Cindy Priddy (HITS).