IT Commons

Statement of Purpose

  • Consists of IT decision-makers from units, schools and colleges that provides a collective IT perspective in support of the academic mission
  • Builds community, shares experiences, promotes shared services, collaborates and innovates
  • Advises the IT Unit Steering Committee to ensure alliance between the U-M IT community and U-M IT governance for strategic IT priorities

Providing Input to the Group

IT Commons members are interested in knowing what you think about IT and computing on campus or in your unit. If you have ideas or suggestions for your unit representative, please contact her or him directly. If your unit is not represented in this list or if you wish to contact the group, send an email to


Member Role
George DiGiacomo (IT Commons Steward) Director of Technology Services, Division of Student Affairs
Edward Adams Chief Technology Officer and Director, Computing Services, Ross School of Business
Charles Allen Client Server Operations Manager, UM-Flint
Brad Battey, Jr. IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director, Life Sciences Institute
Chris Billick Director of Digital Media, Michigan Creative
Traci Buckner HR Information Services Lead Analyst, UHR
Bill Connett Information Systems Operations Director, Institute for Social Research
Chris Eagle Enterprise Architect, CIO Strategy and Planning
Kerry Flynn Network/Desktop Planning Manager, School of Dentistry
Robert Goffeney Director of IT, Strategy and Operations, UM-Dearborn
Joe Gorde Director of IT, School of Education
Marissa Green OS Programming Manager, LSA
John Herlocher IT Acad/Admin Division Interim Director, Medical School
John Johnston ERP Business Systems Analyst Lead, ITS
Bill Kopinski Desktop Support Specialist Supervisor Lead, University Library
Greg Laman Manager Computer and Instructional Technology, School of Music
Ronald Loveless Operations IT Manager, Plant
William Manspeaker Taubman College IT Manager, Architecture and Urban Planning
Steven Mattson Associate Director Technology and Infrastructure Services, Engineering
Stephen McClatchey Manager of IT Services, College of Pharmacy
Colleen McCormick Account Manager, ITS
Kinnothan Nelson Director of Technology, Nursing
Shawn Nelson IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director, Public Policy
Andy Palms Executive Director of Communications Systems and Data Centers, ITS
Rex Patterson Sr. Director of IT Services, Rackham
Reid Paxton ISS Manager of Instructional Computing Systems, ITS
John Peckham Information Systems Manager, University Musical Society
Eric Pinaud IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director, LSA
Todd Raeker Manager SI Computing, School of Information
Joanna Rolston IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director, School of Natural Resources and Environment
Ryan Schell IT Manager, School of Kinesiology
John Turner Senior Manager of Museum Technology, Museum of Art
Matt Walters SSW Computing and Technology Services Manager, School of Social Work
Vlad Wielbut IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director Interim, Public Health
Chris Wood Assistant Director of Core Infrastructure, ITS