Deans, Faculty & Students

IT governance processes that have more active involvement of deans, faculty and key administrators are generally more effective than those where there is not such engagement. IT governance at Michigan was developed from the start to be faculty-led and to incorporate significant decision-making involvement by academic representatives integrally connected to the university's core missions of teaching and learning, research, knowledge and patient care.

The IT Council, is charged with developing the vision and strategic direction for information technology for the entire university. U-M's IT governance success is based on the active involvement of deans, faculty, key administrators and students. The Council includes student representation in addition to deans, faculty and senior administrators.

IT Council

Dean Representatives

  • Daniel Brown, Interim Dean, School of Natural Resources and Environment
  • James Hilton, Dean, University Libraries
  • Thomas Finholt, Dean, School of Information
  • James Penner-Hahn, Associate Dean, LSA

Faculty Representatives

(in addition to the deans)

  • Mark Burns, T.C. Chang Professor of Engineering and Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Jason Flinn, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering
  • James Holloway, Chair, Vice Provost for Global and Engaged Education, Professor of Nuclear Engineering & Radiological Sciences
  • David Mendez, Associate Professor of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health
  • Alexandra Stern, Professor of American Culture, Women's Studies, History, and Obstetrics and Gynecology, Director, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Student Representatives

  • Lindsay Blackwell, Graduate Student, School of Information
  • Maxwell Rothman, Undergraduate, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts