Information and Infrastructure Assurance Domain


This standing council consists of representatives from across the university who convene to:

  • Provide guidance, oversight, and strategic thinking on information technology policy, enterprise continuity, privacy, IT security, and identity and access management in support of the university's mission;
  • Define a balanced approach of applying information assurance and identity and access management principles in support of the university's vision, mission and strategic imperatives;
  • Directly engage the university community to educate and promote information assurance and identity and access management goals and methods.



  • James Ashton-Miller, Associate Vice President for Research Policy & Compliance, Office of Research


  • James Ashton-Miller
    Associate Vice President for Research Policy & Compliance, Office of Research (Chair)
  • Sol Bermann
    Interim Chief Information Security Officer, ITS
  • Myron Campbell
    Associate Dean for Natural Sciences, Literature, Science & Arts
  • George DiGiacomo
    Director of Technology, Office of Student Life
  • Tom Finholt
    Professor of Information and Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Information
  • Kerry Flynn
    Director, Technology Services, School of Dentistry
  • Kevin Fu
    Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Robert Goffeney
    Director of Information Technology, Strategy and Operations, University of Michigan - Dearborn
  • Ted Hanss
    Medical School Chief Information Officer, Medical School
  • Karen Isble
    Senior Executive Director, Campaign, Development Services & Strategic Solutions, Office of Development
  • Laura Blake Jones
    Dean of Students, Office of Student Life
  • Tim Lynch
    Vice President and General Counsel, Office of the General Council
  • Dan Maletta
    Interim Executive Director of Information Technology, College of Engineering
  • Eric Michielssen
    Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Electrical Engineering
  • Tom Murphy
    Director, Computer and Network Services, Interuniversity Consortium for Political Science and Social Research (ICPSR)
  • Laura Patterson
    Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer, ITS
  • Paul Robinson
    Associate Vice Provost and University Registrar, Registrar’s Office
  • Denise Stegall
    Sr Director for Records and Information Services, University Human Resources
  • Jeanne Strickland
    Chief Compliance Officer, University of Michigan Health Systems
  • Joseph G. Piersante
    Director, University Security Services and Chief Operations Officer, Department of Public Safety
  • Deborah White
    Distance Learning Director, University of Michigan - Flint


Kimberly Wheeler (, Administrative Assistant to the IIA Council


U-M IT Policy Development