IT Governance

IT governance is a means to ensure effective and efficient use of resources and capabilities across U-M in order to meet the goals of the university. The IT governance structure at U-M is composed of three types:

  • Strategic Governance focuses on strategic alignment and prioritization of investments. It helps ensure IT is working on the most important projects for the university and that appropriate resources are allocated to different areas.

  • Shared Service Governance focuses on current services from a user perspective. It helps ensure services are meeting quality and cost expectations, and are achieving expected adoption levels.

  • Program/Project Governance is temporarily organized around a specific program or project to provide oversight to ensure it meets budget, schedule, scope, quality, and delivery objectives. This governance also provides sponsorship for changes to a program or project and are the escalation mechanism for issues and risks.

  • Data Governance focuses on managing, protecting, and classifying university data as one of its most important institutional assets.  It helps ensure that there is appropriate accountability for maintaining data quality and integrity.

Governance Committee Calendar